sowny.net | The Southern Ontario/WNY Radio-TV Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

December 6, 2023 3:10 pm  #1

What Is Going On At Global News?

I've been doing TV news for over 25 years and I honestly have no idea what they're thinking at Global News. I admit I rarely watch the show, because their newscasts don't make a lot of sense to me. But on the past few weekends, when the NFL interrupts the news on CTV (and I don't have access to CP24 so I can't watch it there) I'm forced to choose between City and Global. 

So I've tried Global. And I can't understand what they're doing. A few weeks ago, they led their show with the Santa Claus Parade in the Beaches (or Beach, if you prefer.) Except they didn't really lead with it. They showed a few seconds of viz, then promised they'd have "more later." They then went to an actual real news story. But there's no getting around the fact it was their lede, the first thing viewers saw.

And the parade? It didn't show up until 27 minutes after, the very last story in the show. They essentially used the kicker piece as their top story. Why would anyone do that? If you're going to tease the audience, for God's sake don't lead with it and then leave it until the end of the show!

Then last weekend, I watched as the top story was introduced as flooding in Somalia. What? I'm not saying a disaster overseas isn't news and it's a terrible tragedy, but the lede of a local GTA newscast in the top market in the country? Why? Is this really the most important story for a Toronto audience that it goes ahead of everything else? Again, they showed about 15 secs. of it, then went on to another story, only to come back to it in their international package after the first commercial.

Who is producing the line-up over there?