sowny.net | The Southern Ontario/WNY Radio-TV Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

October 23, 2023 4:30 pm  #1

Could A Buffalo HD At 99.5 Be Interfered With By One From Kitchener?

What happens when one digital HD signal overtakes another, even though it's from another market? It's just one of the things that happened last December to WDCX-FM in Buffalo, when its HD signal went down - only to be replaced by a Canadian signal.

(It's not specifically mentioned in the article, but the illustration identifies the offending intruder as CIKZ-FM from Kitchener. But WDCX is at 99.5, while the Kitchener station is at 106.7. I'm not an engineer, but how do stations so far apart on the dial interfere with one another? Wouldn't it be more likely to have been 99.9 CKFM from Toronto? Anyway, here's the story.)

An Unintended Consequence Of Digital Radio

October 23, 2023 4:37 pm  #2

Re: Could A Buffalo HD At 99.5 Be Interfered With By One From Kitchener?

The actual intruder was CKKW 99.5. (CIKZ originally launched at 99.5, hence the mixup)

This HD takeover is the only reason CKKW is in HD in the first place. When WDCX was HD and CKKW wasn't, the Buffalo signal often overrode the KW one. CKKW fixed the situation by themselves going HD.

October 24, 2023 8:42 am  #3

This actually happens all the time the other way around with WDCX HD and their analog signal being received by CKKW listeners. Not to say it doesn't happen to WDCX however I am only privy to the reverse occurrences. The periodic take overs are caused by "Tropospheric Ducting".
We use this site to get a TD forecast especially in the warmer months. https://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html

October 24, 2023 9:09 am  #4

citats wrote: