sowny.net | The Southern Ontario/WNY Radio-TV Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

November 18, 2018 12:28 pm  #1

Is This The Most Ignorant Talk Show Host On Toronto Radio?

I admit I was reluctant to write the screed that follows, only because I don’t want to turn this into a political discussion, which really has no place on this board. But after what I heard on Sunday morning (and in the past) I feel obliged to comment on the one person who I believe is the most ignorant talk show host on local radio.

And it probably isn’t who you think.

There’s a show I’ve been listening to for several years on CHIN Radio, of all places, called the Zelda Young Show. It airs six days a week and deals with issues surrounding the Middle East, with a definite emphasis on Israel. She has interesting guests you don’t hear anywhere else, and I generally find them worthwhile.

She’s also virulently pro-Donald Trump, and if anyone disagrees with anything he does, no matter how minor, she goes off the deep end. That’s her position and I have no argument with her right to feel that way. (Last week she did a talk show segment with a long time sponsor, a liberal-leaning financial advisor, and they got into a huge fight about the U.S. leader, without ever getting a single question about finances on the air!)

But the host regularly shows an appalling ignorance and on Sunday’s show, she went way over the line. During a wide ranging discussion with a guest, the subject of the deadly and destructive fires in California came up. At one point, she made an offhand comment, stating that she believes the blazes may be a kind of punishment from God, intimating it’s because the state usually votes Democrat!

No matter where you stand politically, this is just a horrible thing to say, especially given the unfolding scope of this terrible tragedy. To me, it’s on par with those disgusting morons who picket funerals because the deceased was gay.