sowny.net | The Southern Ontario/WNY Radio-TV Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

January 23, 2017 12:03 pm  #1

Russ Thompson

Russ Thompson, a mainstay in Toronto radio for decades, has passed away at the age of 82.

:The following is from the CBC's Facebook group:

Russ Thompson 
Former CBC Toronto Radio Announcer
August 18, 1934 – January 16, 2017

After 82 wonderful years, Russ passed away peacefully from cancer at Southlake Regional Health Centre surrounded by family. He was the beloved husband of Joan for 63 years, father of Dan (Julie) and grandfather of Kaitlin and Megan.

Born in Montreal, Russ was the son of Dan Wegeruk and Viera Koleka, immigrants fleeing the Russian revolution. Russ had incredible drive that translated into a successful career as a radio and TV spokesman. Self-taught in many ways, he became a prominent afternoon drive time radio announcer for over 40 years in Toronto. Russ worked for CKEY, CBC Radio, Standard Broadcast (CKFM) and finished his career at Easy 97 in 1992. Throughout his distinguished career, Russ was also a TV spokesman and represented some of the Canada's most prestigious brands including GM, Timex, CN/CP, Belvedere and Proctor and Gamble.

In 1997, Russ and Joan moved from their long-time home in Don Mills to a country estate near Schomberg to be closer to Dan and his family. Russ had always wanted to live in the country and enjoyed driving his tractor and tending his gardens for 17 years. Most recently, he and Joan moved to Aurora but he always missed his country estate. An avid gardener and sports enthusiast, Russ was a dedicated husband, father and grandfather who loved nothing more than spending time with his family (especially his granddaughters!) and caring for his roses.

His family would like to extend special thanks to Dr. Tom Leventis, The York Region CCAC Palliative Care team and his doctors and nurses at Southlake Regional Health Centre.

Guestbook: http://tinyurl.com/zu88uqv